The Cookbook Challenge, Week 1– Appetite For Reduction

So, I’ve been wanting to start a vegan food blog for so long, but just never took enough decent pictures for it to be worth it.  I’m working on taking better pictures.  I use an Olympus point and shoot, so that makes it a bit more of a challenge.  I need to decorate in here, so to speak, and I’ll get to that at some point.  About me–I’m a grad student in Massachusetts.  I love to cook and I love to eat.  I also love books and film and yoga so I’ll probably post about that kind of stuff some, too.

On the PPK we are doing a 12 week cookbook challenge.  Each week people choose three recipes from the cookbook chosen for that week.  If someone doesn’t have a particular cookbook, another cookbook can be substituted.  Without further ado–

This is the Chickpea Picatta from Appetite For Reduction.  I was excited to try the recipe, but also wary because I hate capers.  I wanted to stay true to the recipe, but I had to reduce the capers by a little more than half, and I chopped them into even smaller pieces.  I’m glad I did because it was just right.  I loved this dish and couldn’t shove it into my gob fast enough.  The other three servings (the recipe makes four and usually I’d not much bother to look at that, but in the spirit of reduction, I went with a pretty exact single serving) are in my fridge and it’s taking everything I’ve got to not go eat it all right now.  If you haven’t made this, you should go do it right now.  The recipe is on the PPK blog.

This entry was posted in Cookbook Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cookbook Challenge, Week 1– Appetite For Reduction

  1. Ben says:

    I just looked up this recipe that Isa posted and I must make it. Wish I had more time for cooking, though. Bleh.

  2. Celia says:

    I used to make the seitan all the time. Sadly I had to give it and all wheat up. Glad you started a blog! I’m looking forward to seeing what you cook.

Leave a Reply

