AFR- Creamy Mushroom Fettuccine

I plodded along in the kitchen making this one.  I wasn’t in the mood to cook or eat, but I’m already thinking I might have to go from three recipes a week to two, so either way I had to do at least one more.  I am going let myself go down to two recipes a week for the cookbook challenge when I am super busy or just plain unmotivated.  Three a week is a bit much for me with everything I have going on.  But the goal is still three.

I made my own mushroom soup for this recipe by using the ingredients list off a box of Imagine Creamy Portobello Soup (found it online) and added plenty of sage.  I used celery salt since it called for celery and salt and I didn’t have celery.  So, this is how the soup went down: 16 oz water into pot (I don’t measure sometimes, and this was one of those times, so these are estimates), 1 cup plain unsweetened soymilk, about a fourth cup of canola oil, 1 chopped yellow onion, 8 oz baby bellas (chopped, of course), onion powder, garlic powder, and sage.  Cooked for a while, then made it creamy with the immersion blender.  Very very simple, but it was delicious.

I made the Creamy Mushroom Fettuccine recipe exactly as written except for two minor things.  Fettuccine noodles make me crazy–they stick together, get gummy, and have a terrible mouth feel (for me).  Actually, I have to be in the mood for pasta to want it at all and when I do I prefer spaghetti noodles, elbow macaroni, or ziti.  Ohh, lasagna noodles.  Ok, I’m getting off track.  So I used whole wheat spaghetti noodles.  I realized at the last minute that I was out of garlic, so I subbed garlic powder.  I never do that, honestly, but it was that or run out to the store and that just wasn’t going to happen.

The mushroom sauce for this recipe is to DIE for.  I could have eaten it by itself.  Awesome recipe that I will definitely make again.  It was surprisingly fast and didn’t use many dishes.  I clean up as I go when I cook and this was a nice simple pick up.

I don’t get much natural light in the places where I take my photos, so this is dark.  Bear with me, I’m learning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AFR- Creamy Mushroom Fettuccine

  1. Ben says:

    By the gods, it’s Valhalla on a plate.

Leave a Reply

