Snowy Tuesday, Cozy Kitchen, Food.

I only ended up doing two recipes last week from Appetite For Reduction, but that’s ok.  I’m aiming for two, but will try for three.  It’s a snowy, gray day and it made me want to spend good part of the morning puttering around in the kitchen.  I didn’t cook any recipes from Veganomicon, though (the challenge cookbook this week).  Maybe tomorrow.  Today I made a light & quick Spinach Artichoke Roasted Red Pepper Dip and Cranberry Pomegranate Bread.  The lighting is atrocious for these pictures, but there’s not much light today…just gray, gray, gray.  Between that and my general photographic incompetence, these pictures were doomed.  In the photos the walls in my kitchen look like a cross between mustard, green, and vomit brown.

The dip was good, creamy like the fuller fat versions and with a depth of taste.  I think I would have liked more spinach in it, so if you make this and want to, double the spinach to 16 oz and add another quarter cup of Tofutti cream cheese. The recipe and nutritional information is below.

Spinach Artichoke Roasted Red Pepper Dip

8 oz chopped baby spinach
1/4 cup Tofutti cream cheese
1/4 cup chopped roasted red peppers
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
14 oz can artichoke hearts
1 tsp lemon juice
1/4 cup unsweetened soymilk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place all ingredients in a bowl. With clean hands mix the ingredients together until completely mixed. Pour into pan (I used a bread pan because I didn’t have anything else near that size, area-wise) and cook for 20 minutes.

Nutritional Information
Serving 1/4 recipe

89 calories
3 grams fat (1 gram saturated fat)
6 grams carbs (3 grams fiber)
4 grams of protein

The Cranberry Pomegranate Bread was too sweet for my liking. Next time I’ll cut the sugar in half. I’m not posting my recipe for this one because it just wasn’t all that great. Way too sweet. Still, pictures are nice.

Winter in the background.  I love winter.

What I really wanted to make today was chocolate cupcakes.  Tomorrow, perhaps.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snowy Tuesday, Cozy Kitchen, Food.

  1. Ben says:

    Your wintery mood created GREATNESS! Pomegranate cranberry bread must be delivered into my stomach!!! Arr

Leave a Reply

