Food For Lovers Queso & Teese Nacho Cheese Sauce

I’ve been neglecting my blog again, but not out of choice. The problem is my photos. I have plenty of windows in my house, but absolutely no place where I can get decent lighting for photos. I don’t get any direct sun on the house except for in the afternoon and early evening, and that light falls on the back of the house where we have two windows: one little one over the sink in the kitchen and another one in my yoga room. Neither of these give enough light for photos. Even when it seems bright and light in my house my photos look blurry and dark and just awful. I’ve taken a bunch of photos of food in the last couple of weeks only to find that they are completely unusable. So frustrating. If anyone has any tips or ideas for me, please, let me know!

Ok, so I ordered a bunch of “cheese” products from Vegan Essentials. Among them were Food for Lovers Queso, Nacho Mom’s Queso, Teese Cheddar Sauce, and Teese Nacho Sauce. Thus far I’ve tried Food for Lovers Queso and Teese Nacho Sauce.

Food For Lovers Vegan Queso

I have to admit, I did not like this as a dip very much. I didn’t heat it up, though, so maybe I should have? I just opened the jar and started dipping.  I didn’t know what to do with this whole jar of queso and I didn’t want to just throw it away, so I decided to make some enchiladas. I had flour tortillas on hand (I usually use corn tortillas for enchiladas), so I set out making some enchiladas. The filling was homemade refried beans into which I mixed diced, caramelized red onions, diced sauteed green bell pepper, and spices. I poured queso on the bottom of the pan and then again on top of the enchiladas. The whole process start to finish took about 20 minutes.

They were DELICIOUS! This queso may not have been my cup o’ tea as far as just something to dip chips into, but as a cheese sauce on these enchiladas…oh man!! Cheesy and satisfying. Here are my horrible pictures:

Teese Nacho Cheese Sauce

What better to do with nacho cheese sauce than make nachos? Tortilla chips covered in spicy refried beans, Teese Nacho Cheese, guacamole, Tofutti sour cream (I’m not a huge fan of this stuff, but I wanted something cooling on these), Sriracha hot sauce, and tomatoes. I’m not sure what I thought of this stuff. Unremarkable? It was pretty good on nachos, but in general I’m not a fan of vegan cheeses. My PMS led me to this massive cheese order from Vegan Essentials and I haven’t been exactly looking forward to trying them. I prefer my nachos piled high with beans, red onions, tomatoes, pico de gallo, salsa, guac, sour cream (vegan version, of course), and some shredded raw spinach and maybe some sweet corn. These nachos were kind of basic. Even when I was a vegetarian I wasn’t a huge fan of cheese, so bear that in mind reading my reviews of vegan cheese stuff.

It did get melty and saucy like… a sauce. It didn’t have an overtly “oh, yeah, this is vegan chemicals that so badly want to be cheese” taste that I find a lot of these products have. In general, I would definitely recommend it, especially if you are someone who enjoys cheesy stuff.

And that’s all I’ve got. Seriously, though, anyone with tips about taking photos without a lot of natural light, speak up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food For Lovers Queso & Teese Nacho Cheese Sauce

  1. Ben Clardy says:

    Now those look like proper nachos 🙂

Leave a Reply

